Beautiful Creatures, Poem, Poetry

Kristina Diprose

Mononoke 

The boy says I am not a wolf
despite the keenness of my teeth, 
despite the blood I licked from my sister’s wound,
despite the nights I have prowled this forest. 

The boy says I am human
despite the howling in my heart, 
despite the thirst for my next kill, 
despite the goddess who raised me. 

The boy says he loves me
and I am human and not a wolf
because he cannot hear the music of the moon, 
because he cannot heed a warning.



Kristina Diprose is a writer and social researcher living in Saltaire. Her last major research project (Climate Change, Consumption and Intergenerational Justice: Lived Experiences in China, Uganda and the UK, Bristol University Press 2019) sparked an interest in climate change ethics and ecofeminism that is reflected in her recent poetry.